Need help from bakers!

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

wickman6

Reaction score
I stumbled upon this bread recipe that I would like to try to convert using some spent grain.
As the starter calls for honey or malt syrup, could I use a bit of wort, simmered down to a syrup as a replacement? I don't see why not.
Also, how much of the flour might I take out and replace with the spent grain? I've baked quite a few breads so I'm familiar with good dough consistancy, however I'm far from a pro!
I think this could be a good one, any tips would be well received!

Thanks, and Cheers!

German farmer-style rye bread)

1 large loaf

Ingredients

Dough Starter

Bread flour -- 3/4 cup

Rye flour -- 3/4 cup

Honey or malt syrup -- 3 tablespoons

Water, lukewarm -- 1 1/2 cups

Instant yeast -- 1/2 teaspoon

Flour mixture

Bread flour -- 2 1/2 cups

Caraway seeds -- 2 tablespoons

Salt -- 1 1/2 teaspoons

Instant yeast -- 1/2 teaspoon

Oil -- 1 tablespoon

Cornmeal -- for the baking tray

Method

Add the ingredients for the starter to a large bowl and mix together until smooth. Set aside for 10 minutes for the yeast to activate.

While the starter is resting, mix together the remaining ingredients except for the oil and cornmeal. Pour the flour mixture over the starter. Do not stir. Cover with plastic wrap or a clean towel and set aside for at least two hours and up to five hours. The starter will bubble up through the flour mixture.