My take on the keg/carboy/beer line/growler washer

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

AtticBrewing

Reaction score
I'm new to HBT, but I've been lurking for a few years now. My keg washer build was inspired by many HBT users so I naturally cannot take full credit for it. So thanks to this awesome community!

I figured I'd post a quick album to document my build in case anyone was interested... Forgive the ****ty washed out cell phone pics!

mY5Xqvkl.jpg

It all starts with this 1" PVC flow-through spa manifold with (4) x 3/8" hose barb outlets. I installed a 3/8" ball valve on one barb for recirculating/dissolving cleaning chemicals

mtyCVnrl.jpg

The heart of the system is the most powerful <$100 submersible oil-free mag drive pump I could find. It is a ~1600 GPH 245w (1/3hp!) unit that set me back $80, but this thing is a beast - http://www.amazon.com/dp/B0012V5VNW/?tag=skimlinks_replacement-20

ItHVJ7Wl.jpg

First test fit in the 6.5gal bucket - you can also see the three holes for the panel-mount shutoff quick disconnects I will be using. I used a threaded ball valve on top so I can quickly install/uninstall various nozzles/attachments, as you will see below!

kDwkQkWl.jpg

This is the first shot of the (mostly) completed assembly - showing the pump, panel-mount QD's, and keg/carboy washing nozzle. I used Colder QD's purchased from http://www.freshwatersystems.com/c-974-plc-series-acetal-couplings.aspx

I5uQiMpl.jpg

This is the first test run - I had no support for the better bottle so I had to hold it!

Tfmdmdnl.jpg

Washing my first keg - I, like everyone else, made some liquid/gas jumpers to clean the dip tubes

qhVdp9Nl.jpg