My DIY glycol chiller / help/suggestions

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Mirilis

Lvl 10 Beer Nerd
HBT Supporter
Reaction score
It's not getting cool.. I did the water test and it ran for 18 minutes but temp never changed. I don't think I nicked any lines so I'm not sure why it's not chilling.

8 gallons of water
570W dehumidifier (just under 2000 btu/hr)
Start temp 64.6
Set temp 41
Not counting losses it should take 1574 BTUs.. so about 45 minutes of running

Any suggestions?

photo

It's hard to see in that pic. But do you have enough/any air flow across the radiator(condenser)? With out air flow it cannot get rid of the heat and the evaporator (part submerged in glycol in your cooler) won't get cold. Im no expert but i think you need to put the shroud back on the squirrel cage fan so that it can move some air properly...

But like i said. It's hard to see from the pic. Maybe post some more closer and detailed pics of your build will help get you some better advise

Dumb question but you hear the compressor kicking on right? Reason I ask is I miss wired my originally and the fan would run, but not the compressor...

It runs for a minute or two then the compressor kicks on... I let it run and the compressor started getting hot but neither of the lines coming out changed temp. I pulled most of the kink out and inspected the lines and didn't see any breaks.

Put the casing back on to direct the airflow and that wasn't it either. A guy in my lhbc gave me an old ac and I ripped it apart.. I plugged it in and the coils started to cool and the (frost/sweat) so I'm gonna try using that.