My beer ghosted me

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

elgatovolador

Reaction score
Last night I tried to pour a pint of my Imperial IPA out of the keg and to my surprise nothing came out, not even CO2. This was my first kegged beer so naturally I was heartbroken.

However, I noticed something odd. I’m almost sure last time I poured beer I still had a few more beers left.

When nothing came out of the keg, I checked the CO2 and to my surprise it was empty. I’m still learning the draft system ins and outs but...if your keg taps out it shouldn’t cause your CO2 to leak out am I right? I’m assuming that I must have a leak somewhere...however I’m afraid that some beer might have gone into the CO2 tank for some reason as I am almost 100% sure I still had beer in the keg.

I’m going to check the regulator to see if there’s any beer inside of it but I won’t be able to until next week unfortunately...

As far as I know, most manifolds have check valves, so fluid cannot go into the tank, and yes you need to check for leaks, or you have a little mouse that’s drinking your brew. o_O

My first regulator had no check valves. I tapped into a hot keg and flooded the thing with beer. Didn't ruin it, but it made a mess. Beer did not go in the tank, btw.