"Must Have" Hops

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

nathani

Reaction score
Hi all, I'm just getting started in the all grain world. I've done 5 batches so far. It's going really well. My problem is I live 5 hours drive from the nearest decent homebrew store that sells hops. I acquired a vacuum sealer so I'm looking to stock up on about 5 varieties of hops. Thought I would buy a pound of each. Can I get some recommendations? I already have a good amount of EKG and I think I want to buy some Hallertau for sure since it comes up quite a bit in the recipes I brew. I'm been advised to buy some tettnang from a friend as well. What do you think?

Cascade. Cascade also combines well with EKG in my experience. Made some beers recently where I used both for flavor/aroma with EKG at twice the level of Cascades and they combined well.

You could also get a half pound of each and get 10 varieties.

;-)

It really depends on what you make most. I make mostly American IPAs, ambers, and pale ales. I also make California common quite a bit. So, my freezer has pounds of northern brewer, cascade, centennial, amarillo, and for fun, some willamette (just because it was about $7.25/pound). I have magnum because I use it quite a bit for bittering hops.

If I made English beers, I'd have East Kent goldings, and/or fuggles. If I did German beers, I'd have noble hops. For pilsners, I'd stock up on saaz.

Think about the beers you like, and what you most often make, and buy the hops that you use most.

A good "neutral" bittering hop would be a good choice, too, because you could use it in nearly every beer for bittering. A variety like galena could work for many beer styles.