Newbie here! Need some advice about my sediment!?!

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Hi everyone, my wife and I just took up the great hobby of homebrewing! We're just starting to ferment hard cider seeing as though its the most inexpensive to learn with. Our first bottle was finished yesterday. It was a 750mL bottle, and we used Fleischmanns RapiRise yeast, wich we probably shouldn't have used, we vsited one of the local shops here in town and picked up a sparkling wine yeast for our next batch! Im excited for that. I am curious as to how to rid our brew of the sediment in the bottle though? I left the first batch to ferment for 2 weeks, and we just drank it last night and got a good buzz! It was pretty sweet, and well rounded but was more of an apple wine rather than a cider? And there was quite a bit of sediment in the bottle after the 2 weeks, is there any way I can get rid of it, or use it to our advantage?

:mug:thanks for the help everyone!:mug:

I'm certainly not a cider expert, but there's a forum here for cider brewers where I'm sure you'll get good information. That said, I'll tell you what I do know.

Most homebrewed cider is like you describe, more like an apple wine (more dry) than what most Americans think of as cider. The reason is that the sugars in apple juice are completely fermentable, that is, convert entirely to alcohol, so there aren't any residual sugars left in the cider to make it taste sweet. This is unlike beer where some of the sugars never ferment and stay behind in the brew to lend that malty sweetness.