Priming Sugar

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

kbrewer855

Reaction score
I am kind of new to home brewing and have made about 6 batches. I am using Muntons HME. My laser batch of pilsner was kind of flat. The one before an American Light was perfect. The only difference I can think of was the priming sugar I used. For the American I had bought a small bag of "priming sugar" i bought from a local brew shop. They have since closed. But on the pilsner I used dextrose. I thought the priming sugar was just dextrose. I had thrown away the instructions but looked up priming on the Montons web site. They said to use 1/2 tsp per pint and sine I was using 1 liter bottles, not completely full, I used 1 tsp per bottle.

My question is, is there a difference and if so how much dextrose should I use doe a 1 liter bottle.

I have not put dextrose directly in the bottle. For typical 5 gallon batches I go 5oz of dextrose with 2 cups of water. Boil and let cool. From there I add it to the beer in my bottling bucket and lightly stir. Thus far I haven't had any issues when storing them at 70 degrees for 3 weeks. Just a thought.

Yep, I quit using corn sugar a long time ago and just use straight table sugar. I use whatever Beer Smith tells me is needed to reach the level of carbonation I want, but I have had good luck with about three quarters of a cup of sugar boiled in a couple of cups of water and just dump it into the bottling bucket.