what category for hb competition

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

heathcom

Reaction score
Im entering a brew for a local home brew competition and not sure what category it would fall under. It has u.s. pale 2 row, munich 2, cara-pils and crystal 40. Maybe a light or amber hybrid?

There are many more details that need to be known--yeast used, gravities (OG and FG), IBUs, color.

I used nottingham yeast, .5oz cascade hops for 1 gallon batch. When adding the hops, I put .25oz from the start, about .12oz at 30 mins than the rest at 15. color is a little darker than yellow bordering on orange.
Im still new to brewing and havnt got all the technical details down.

It sounds as if your recipe will fall into category 10.B (American Amber Ale)
Get the BJCP style guideline app, it's free.

You really need to know OG and FG range, bitterness (IBU) range, colour, abv.

Your ingredients alone look like they will fall into the above category.

Thanks for the info. The technical details werent required on the HB form but good to know. I used beertools and got some great info. The Og was 1.042 and 1.010, about 4.2% abv. The ibus in beertoops showed 52, is that right?

The big question is why do you want to enter this comp? Take this with a grain of salt as I am only going to start entering compititions this year but you really need to brew for the compitition rather than enter a beer you brewed because it is good - What I mean is you need to decide on style first > brew > taste if beer is appropriote to style > enter.
From what you have on hand I would go with an out-of-style APA - 10A and could loss points on being to bitter. If you enter it expect to loss some points due to it being not exactly to style - even though it could be a great beer.