Temp Control Fermentation

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
I am relatively new to home brewing and I am in the process of buying/building equipment and such. I have all grain setup complete and now I want to build a fermenting chamber. I have heard and read a lot of the importance of fermentation temperatures. Do these temperatures pertain only to primary fermentation or is aging/conditioning temp also important. I am asking because I need to know if my fermentation chamber needs to be big enough to only house 1 or 2 beers going through primary fermentation or does it need to be large enough to house beers also in secondary/aging fermentation. Hope that makes sense. Thanks>

primary fermentation - all kinds of beers
secondary - only those that get secondaried
aging/conditioning - you get to lager anything before drinking so they all come out better

in other words, yes, use temp control through all phases. you can ferment at a controlled temp, and when done, you can lager/cold-condition. it makes for a MUCH better beer when you do control either ferm temp or lagering, but especially both

Really, the *key* reason you need fermentation control is for the first week (primary). This is when the main off flavors from temperature will be developed.

After that, higher temps will cause any staling or oxidation to occur more quickly than at lower temps, but in general you can age at room temp without any real worries.

Since most beers don't need to go into a secondary fermenter, the focus for temp control is on primary fermentation, especially during the first week after pitching (when it is most active). Bottle carbing/conditioning happens best at room temp (70-76*F)