What the hop!?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Dylan42

Reaction score
A little disappointed.

I brewed an attempt at an experimental double IPA recipe (although Im a noob).

Here are the details:

Ingredients:

Steeped @ 165 for 30min:
-1 lb. 2 Row Malt grains
-1 lb Crystal 45 Malt

Took kettle off heat mixed in:
-12 lbs Briess Gold Malt Extract

@60 min added:
-1 oz Apollo Hops
-1.5 oz Simcoe

@ 30 min added:
-.5 oz Zythos
-.5 oz Cascade

@15min added:
-1.00 oz Citra
-2.75 oz Apollo

@5min
-1.00 oz Simcoe

At the time I had no wort cooler so I stuck the wort in my glass carboy put it in the fridge and it didn't get down to 68 degrees until the next morning. (took out of fridge overnight)

I pitched 2 Cal yeast tubes WLP001 ( they each had a best before date of Nov 2011.)

I then threw 1.00 oz ea of cascade, crystal, and zythos on top to dry hop.

After two days I saw no activity so I got another yeast pack new from the LHBS and pitched it. American Ale 1056

I then had a blow over and instantly installed a blow off tube.

Crazy activity up until now.

I wanted to check the gravity and taste although I forgot to take an SP reading. Gravity reading was 1.013.

It tastes horrible, so hoppy it could choke someone. I took a couple of tastes and it is unbearable and had a super soapy aftertaste.

Next time i won't ignore brewtoad.com they currently have me calculated at 203 IBU's.

So after all of that long-windedness...

Is there anything I can do to salvage or even out the hoppiness? Will it age out? If I have to dump it I won't mind too much because I have another IPA in the closet (recipe followed on that one), and I would love to brew again this weekend! :).