Low Grain Bill Recipe?? Thoughts?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Raider

Reaction score
Hey All!

I’m reading through all these great recipes and I got the BrewFather app. It’s pretty cool and I’m new to home brew. I’m trying to come up with the cheapest 5% brew. Current covid-19 and now being laid off is putting a budget on my brewing and beer drinking so I want to solve both problems! Plus I have lots of time on my hands now.
Any suggestions? I got a 1-5 gallon setup

You don't mention style... but for 5 gallons at 70% brewhouse efficiency, you could do something like 9 pounds pale malt, 1/2 pound of a lighter crystal (20-60l), and your favorite hop. For something like an APA, a ounce of magnum at 60 minutes, and then 1/2 oz of Cascade at 10 minutes. This would give you a pretty tasty beer at ~5% abv, with minimum ingredients.

Or go super simple-- 9.5 pounds of pale malt, Cascade or your favorite dual purpose hop to ~35 ibus at 60, and then same hop at about 1/2 oz with 10 minutes left.

If feeling crazy, dry hop with another 1/2 oz of the same hop.

:mug:

Come on, we can go cheaper than 9.5 lbs of malt! I'm thinking a Saison with dry yeast (B-134). Low OG and low FG minimizes fermentables while maximizing ABV. OG of 1.040 could easily get you to 5% ABV. Substituting some sugar, store-brand corn flakes or rice crispies for parts of the malt bill could further reduce cost.

Hops? Don't need 'em. Bitter with dandelion root (those are coming up in many areas of the US right now - not here, of course - spring just arrived yesterday).

I bet I could do 5 gal of 5% ABV beer this way for under $10!

Disclaimer: it might very well be terrible - how would I know, I've never tried it!