measuring gravity

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Foghorn

Reaction score
I am a newbie at brewing and only have 2 complete batches under my belt. Both turned out good but I noticed I am wasting a lot or wort and beer taking gravity readings. To fill the tube on both ends I am losing about of 2 bottles. For my third batch I sanitized my hydrometer and floated it right in the fermentation bucket prior to adding the yeast. But looking down at the angle I am sure it messed up my reading, not to mention my eyes are going, but I got low reading 1.044. I tried to mix really well but hard to say how good of a job I did. The short question is there cheap alternatives, minus the refractometer, to get gravity readings?

I think it's just a necessary evil unless you want to pay up and get a refractometer. I pull about 6oz for a sample, so 3 samples and yeah, I guess you are getting close to loosing two bottles worth. I enjoy sampling the beer to see how it is progressing, so I don't really think it's a big deal (personally) in a 5 gallon batch.

AMonkey said:
What are you using that you lose two bottles worth? I use the tube it came in and it doesnt take much beer to fill that up.

I have a big tube probably 10 oz, never measured, but that is a great idea! I wonder if the hydrometer tube would leak? Its kind of cheap but it may work! Thanks for the idea.

I sanitize everything, take my reading, sample some of it, and poor the rest back in. Is this a terrible idea? I do try to minimize the splashing to reduce introduction to air, but are there other problems with pouring it back?

I bought a 100ml (3.3 oz) graduated cylinder off amazon for my hydromater. I usually just drink the sample or dump it.