Lager fermenter

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Chewpeg

Reaction score
So really wanted to do a lager. Background is I just started brewing and have just started 2 months ago. Really enjoy it and have read countless internet articles and forums and have read 3 books so far. Have just the starter extract equipment and my first real buy will be a ss 15 gallon kettle for a ebiab.
Anyways had no fridge or anything of the such to lower the temperature to ferment a lager so built a box out of 1/2 plywood a ton of glue, Sm Styrofoam and spray foam. I’m able to keep a to of 11C/52F with a 4 litre jug for over 12 hours.
My question is, is there a some kind of refrigerator equipment that can be added to a box of this kind to keep the temperature? I realize I could do the same approach with an old freezer but like doing this hands on approach and totally going to build a bigger one to hold other fermenters and such. Ideas for me??
IMG_3232.jpg
IMG_3234.jpg

That's a pretty nice result for the first time out of the box....so to speak. :)

Some people have done things like use air conditioners or small refrigerators to provide cooling to such a container.

Another option--can't tell where you live, but if you live in a place with Craigslist, or a Facebook marketplace, you might look for a tall dorm-style refrigerator. Mine is 4.4 cu feet, and that's about the right size.

They can be converted to a ferm chamber very, very easily. Might be easier to get a used cheap refrigerator and repurpose it than to try to add refrigeration to your insulated box.

I've seen those refrigerators on Craislist for from $30-60. At that price it's hard not to get one.

Here's what mine looks like:

minifermchamber.jpg

Anyway, good luck!

Thanks mongoose!