Lager Fermentation

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Hi everyone.
I'm very new at homebrewing, iv only started in the last couple of weeks. My first brew was an IPA which is now bottled and ageing. As you can imagine it didn't go without some problems but I got there.

Yesterday I started a larger using Coopers ingredients and fermentor so no air lock.

To say the instructions were vague would be a huge understatement. Mix the ingredients, add water to the 23 litre mark at a temp of 21 - 24 degrees C, add the yeast, test gravity, ferment at between 13 - 15 degrees C.

It's been 24 hours now and the top of the brew has some small islands of foam on top but nothing substantial. I have managed to get the temp down to 15 degrees C.

My question that I'm hoping you experienced brewers can help me with is this.
Am I supposed to keep the temp higher 21 - 24 degrees C until fermentation is well and truly underway then reduce the temp to 13 - 15 degrees C or get it straight down to that temp.

I'm worried I have got the brew too cold too soon which is stunting fermentation.

PLEASE HELP 🤦🏼‍♂️

13C-15C is not too cold for a lager. It's actually a bit warm for most lagers. That said, lager fermentations are often slower than ale fermentations, so my advice would be to be patient.

Some lager brewers do pitch at a higher temperature than they will ferment at, to get the fermentation started faster, and/or because they are sprinking un-rehydrated using dry yeast, which shouldn't be done at lager fermentation temps. One or both of those reasons is probably why your instructions said to pitch the yeast at 21C-24C.