Is this Bru'n Water profile correct?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

jwelch1103

Supporting Member
HBT Supporter
Reaction score
I am hoping I can get some feedback here. I've been using Bru'n water to build water profiles for my beers for a couple of years now and am somewhat comfortable using it.

I am making my first very dark beer (EBC 73.8) while building a water profile and am surprised by how acidic these dark malts make the mash. When I added the malts into the grain bill the unadjusted ph is predicted to be 4.3 and to get this up in the 5.4 range I have to add what seems to me to be a lot of baking soda, 1.8 grams per gallon. The overall finished water has only 74 ppm of Sodium which in my understanding is not too high and I was able to adjust the other minerals close to what the profile calls for (about 15-20% up or down depending on the mineral).

So, my question is: does this seem out of kilter with this baking soda addition?

upload_2017-12-7_9-28-41.jpeg

Without knowing your grain bill, types and amounts, its really impossible for me to tell. I guess you could use RO or distilled water, or reduce the amount of dark grains.

I am using 100% RO/DI water, here's the grain bill.

upload_2017-12-7_10-21-38.jpeg

Attachments

• upload_2017-12-7_10-17-28.jpeg
    upload_2017-12-7_10-17-28.jpeg
    127.2 KB · Views: 48
  • upload_2017-12-7_10-19-44.jpeg
    upload_2017-12-7_10-19-44.jpeg
    107.4 KB · Views: 60