IPL recipe critique.

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Justdrumin

Reaction score
I recently had an IPL that Sam Adams makes and loved it. So naturally I want to brew one! This is what SA has listed on their website:

HOP VARIETIES
Zeus, Simcoe, Citra, Ahtanum, Cascade, Centennial, and Nelson Sauvin hops

MALT VARIETIES
Samuel Adams® two-row pale malt blend and Munich malt

YEAST STRAIN
Botton-fermenting Lager

COLOR
Bright amber / 10 SRM

SPECIAL INGREDIENTS
ALC. BY VOL/WT
5.0%ABV - 3.9%ABW

IBUs

This is what I came up with. I'm not looking to clone it, I just want something that's similar and more importantly...some delicious brew!!! I'm VERY new to designing recipes, but I'm addicted since I made another recipe! I read that the normal 7 day was dry hop isn't necessary and can actually be achieved in a day or two. So I opted for a three day dry hop.

Brew Method: Partial Mash
Style Name: American IPL
Boil Time: 60 min
Batch Size: 5.5 gallons (fermentor volume)
Boil Size: 3 gallons
Boil Gravity: 1.054
Efficiency: 60% (brew house)

STATS:
Original Gravity: 1.055
Final Gravity: 1.012
ABV (standard): 5.58%
IBU (tinseth): 44.39
SRM (morey): 10.22

FERMENTABLES:
4 lb - Liquid Malt Extract - Amber - (late addition) (42.1%)
2 lb - American - Munich - Light 10L (21.1%)
2 lb - Liquid Malt Extract - Amber (21.1%)
8 oz - American - Carapils (Dextrine Malt) (5.3%)
1 lb - Dry Malt Extract - Amber (10.5%)

HOPS:
0.5 oz - Simcoe, Type: Pellet, AA: 12.7, Use: Boil for 60 min, IBU: 21.2
0.5 oz - Cascade, Type: Pellet, AA: 7, Use: Boil for 15 min, IBU: 5.8
0.5 oz - Centennial, Type: Pellet, AA: 10, Use: Boil for 15 min, IBU: 8.28
0.5 oz - Citra, Type: Pellet, AA: 11, Use: Boil for 15 min, IBU: 9.11
0.5 oz - Cascade, Type: Pellet, AA: 7, Use: Aroma for 0 min