I'm changing my technique and have a few questions

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

HappyDrunk

Reaction score
Well, after a year long hiatus from brewing, I am now fully back into the swing of things. For starters, I am not really a beginner anymore, but I didn't know where else to put this as I have a few questions I'd like to ask all at once.

First of all, I am doing my best to WAIT for my brew to age these days. I used to ferment for 2-3 weeks, keg it, hook it up to CO2, shake it, and drink it fast (as in pulling pints the same day I kegged it, lol). The problem was that the quality of these beers was nowhere as good as it was when I used to bottle. The only reason I could come up with was that the extra 3 weeks at room temperature (while carbing) was 3 more weeks for the beer to age and condition. So, in order to force myself to wait, I have decided to try naturally carbing my kegs. I kegged this batch 10 days ago after priming with 1/3 cup corn sugar. Which brings me to my first question - can I pull the pressure relief valve to check if it is indeed carbonating? I intend on buying a gauge to hook up to the kegs while they are carbonating to avoid that in the future, but is it okay to do this time?

My second question is now that I am naturally carbing, will I have to force a cleaning solution through the dip tube to clear out yeast/trub after each batch? I've been doing a lot of reading, and it seems to rarely be an issue, but I would like to know what yalls protocol here is.

Third question is, do I need to pull the relief valve on the keg before hooking up to CO2? I have heard that if the beer is overcarbed (or at a higher pressure than the regulator or something) that beer will flow through the air line and ruin the regulator.