Howdy from Pa. Noob going to All Grain

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

RavenLune

Reaction score
Hello, from Central Pa., I've been researching homebrewing for about 2-3 months, I've aquired 2 6g, 1 5g, & 2 5g betterbottle Carboys, 1 fermenting bucket, siphoning, & racking cane,hydrometer, bungs airlocks, big spoon, cleaning bottle brushes,locally for around 160$ here,& there...I've been digging for bottles at the recycle center, I've never brewed anything yet, but would like to go straight to All Grain,& have found ingredients, I plan on buying 50lb sack of pale malt (36+ 20shipping), a bunch of of specialty grains..hops.(pointbrewsupply)... based on recipes I found here, deception stout, magic hat #9 clone, ...I need to still convert my cooler into a mash tun, I have-5 gallon steel pot (do I need bigger?) I also plan on getting a corona style mill, but I would like to build a 5 gallon bucket, with mill,& drill attachment.I've talked with local group, the local hb shop is very basic,its actually a swimming pool shop, expensive, but has basic airlock, bungs...I am not aware of any close whole sale places, I am friends with local brewery, I fix their roof also, so maybe they will pay me in grains next time?
My wife is giving me the eye, with the costs,even though I have not brewed anything yet, still need mash ton, capper, sanitizers. I plan on hard cider, & wine, I have 2 apple tree, & pear, soon wineberries will be everywhere.. Thank you for reading my runaway post, I will be most humbled with advice or, chat!
Mr. Lune

Looks like you have plenty of stuff already (more than I do ;) ). Here is my advice but other will disagree:
- get a 9-10 gallon pot. 5 gal is not nearly enough to do a full boil.