How to Imperialize and Sessionize Recipes

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Weezy

Reaction score
Caveat: This article is my opinion, based on my personal experiences as a homebrewer. I am not an expert. YMMV. RDWHAHB.….and whatever other acronyms might seem appropriate.
Note too that the grain and hop weight and percentages used here are very rough numbers just to illustrate the point.

Threads pop-up all the time with people considering making a session (low gravity beer) or imperial (high gravity beer) version of some beer recipe or general style. I’ve spent a lot of time on session beers and the occasional high gravity ale as well. This article intends to share my experience and ideas in modifying an otherwise normal recipe (say, 1.050-1.070 OG beer) to make it a good session or imperial beer. I’ll be discussing this in three sections: (1) How to adjusting grain percentages, (2) How to adjust hop quantities, and (3) adding or subtracting grains or adjuncts to support the flavor and mouthfeel.

How to adjusting grain percentages

Let’s say your favorite IPA recipe is a 6% beer (OG about 1.060) and your malt bill is:

Regular IPA (1.060)
U.S. Pale Malt 10 lbs. (90%)
Crystal 60 0.5 lbs. (5%)
Carapils/Dextrin Malt 0.5 lbs. (5%)

And you want to make a low alcohol, session version. The first inclination is to jump into your software and ratchet down the OG to, say, 1.045, and let’er rip. Lowering the OG in your software will maintain the ratio of grains (i.e. percentages) and simply adjust the grain weight to get to the desired OG. You’ll end up with something like this:

Session IPA (1.045)
U.S. Pale Malt 7.5 lbs. (90%)
Crystal 60 0.4 lbs. (5%)
Carapils/Dextrin Malt 0.4 lbs. (5%)