Hoppy Saison

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Stand

Reaction score
I'm working on a low ABV Saison/Grisette, and I was wondering if anybody has made something like this and had any advice?

It's my first attempt, and I just don't know how American hops like Centennial will play with Belgian yeasts. I have Cascade and Citra on-hand as well if those might play better.
Name of Brew: Cloud Solo Grisette (DECK)
Entry Category: SaisonType: All Grain
Category Number: 25Subcategory Letter: B
Starting Gravity: 1.042 SGBatch Size: 10.50 gal
Final Gravity: 1.008 SGMash Profile: Grisette
Hops Used
Hops Used
Amt
Name
Type
#
%/IBU
15.00 g​
Merkur (Hallertauer Merkur) [13.60 %] - Boil 60.0 min​
Hop​
9​
14.7 IBUs​
30.00 g​
Centennial 2017 [9.70 %] - Boil 5.0 min​
Hop​
10​
3.8 IBUs​
30.00 g​
Crystal [5.70 %] - Boil 5.0 min​
Hop​
11​
2.5 IBUs​
30.00 g​
Centennial 2017 [9.70 %] - Dry Hop 5.0 Days​
Hop​
14​
0.0 IBUs​
30.00 g​
Crystal [5.70 %] - Dry Hop 0.0 Days​
Hop​
15​
0.0 IBUs​
Grains Used
Fermentables
Amt
Name
Type
#
%/IBU
11 lbs​
Swaen©Pilsner (1.9 SRM)​
Grain​
5​
73.3 %​
1 lbs 8.0 oz​
Viking Wheat Malt (3.0 SRM)​
Grain​
6​
10.0 %​
1 lbs 8.0 oz​
White Wheat, Unmalted (Briess) (2.0 SRM)​
Grain​
7​
10.0 %​
1 lbs​
Viking Munich Malt Light (8.1 SRM)​
Grain​
8​
6.7 %​
Other Ingredients Used
Misc Ingredients
Amt
Name
Type
#
%/IBU
8.00 g​
Gypsum (Calcium Sulfate) (Mash 60.0 mins)​
Water Agent​
2​
-​
6.00 g​
Calcium Chloride (Mash 60.0 mins)​
Water Agent​
3​
-​
4.00 g​
Epsom Salt (MgSO4) (Mash 60.0 mins)​
Water Agent​
4​
-​
Yeast Used
Yeasts Used
Amt
Name
Type
#
%/IBU
1.0 pkg​
Belgian Ardennes (Wyeast Labs #3522) [124.21 ml]​
Yeast​
12​
-​
1.0 pkg​
French Saison (Wyeast Labs #3711) [50.28 ml]​
Yeast​
13​

Last edited: