Hi From Eugene, OR

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

BrueDude

Reaction score
I've been brewing for a few months (4 maybe?) and am absolutely hooked. I was already a bit of a beer geek, but am not a hophead at all (I enjoy the occasional IPA, but only one or two once in a while). I moved to Eugene a year and a half ago, and everything was super hop-forward. Finding a malty beer was hard sometimes, and the selection was limited.

Fast forward a year, and I get a Mr. Beer kit for free through my business. It was terrible, but I loved having beer that I made. By brew #3 I was doing all-grain and kegging. By brew #6, I was harvesting yeast. I've been designing my own recipes from the beginning, just because I want to. I'm just now starting to pay attention to styles.

Anyway, brews 9 and 10 are kegged right now. One is a Belgian Red, because I had some witbier yeast I had saved, but didn't want to brew another wit, so I pitched it into an Irish Red. The other is just just a beer with a malt profile that sounded good. I call it a Scottish Export, but it really isn't (ABV is much too high). I just wanted to name it after a guy I knew named Scott. He was from Boston, had a thick Boston accent and we all called him Sqwat from Bwoston. He was a great guy, so I called it Great Sqwat.

I'm brewing numbers 11, 12, and 13 this week. They will be a Biere de Garde, an American Stout, and a Blonde Ale.

Ambitious for a noob! Welcome to HBT and the, uhh, hobby. More like an obsession for many on this forum, me included.