Here comes a new brewer!

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

DonBon

Reaction score
Hello all,

I just joined the forum and will be spending some not insignificant amount of time hunting through the site for tips and tricks on how to develop into the Greatest Brewer In The World. I received my first brewing kit last weekend for my birthday and wasted little time in getting everything set up and bubbling. My first batch is now on day four of fermentation and I'm hoping to move on to the next step either today or tomorrow.

I have no experience of brewing prior to this, but my dad made some beers when I was younger, so I'll also be reaching out to him for advice on the regular. My preference for beers tends towards the hoppy side of things and I'm hoping a brewing hobby will let me expand my horizons somewhat.

Anyhoo, just wanted to say hello and forewarn everyone that I'm likely to be asking a lot of questions in the fairly near future!

Thank you both!

I realised shortly after posting that I've already wandered into the "didn't read instructions properly" territory and had thought the fermentation process ought to be finished today or tomorrow. Turns out I should only expect strong signs of bubbling in the air trap by now and that the fermentation might well take another ten days. Ten days!!

How do you find the patience not to just pull open the fermenting bucket every other hour and attack it with a straw?!