Help! Vinegary taste AGAIN

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Hey folks, I'm new to this. Only on my second Cooper's homebrew batch. First was a lager came out tasting like it had old apple juice stilled in it.

Did the stout this time. Followed directions exactly. It's been fermenting now for about 2-3 weeks. The s/g seems to have levelled out at about 1.005. which according to my initial gravity somehow gives me a light beer at like 3.6/3.7% :(

But although it tells me to bottle when this happens I tasted it and it again has a vinegary/old apple aftertaste to it. Very bitter. If I leave it longer will anything change? Or is this kit total garbage or something??

So frustrated!

I don't know what to do for the idea of infection. I cleaned all the equipment with the proper chems from a DIY brew store, haven't opened it since I took out the kreseun collar a few days in. Not sure how to actually tell is there IS an infection. Is there a test or something?

Our eyes, nose and taste are normally used to detect and identify an infection.

By "First was a lager came out tasting like it had old apple juice stilled in it." do you mean vinegar? If so, please refer to the pdf I attached.

Unfortunately, once vinegar it will always be vinegar (in other words it will not go away with aging).

I'm also not sure how great the plastic hydrometer is that comes with the kit.

Yep mixed in the dry ingredients along with the canned sludge they send you in about 2L of hot water. Then added up to the 23L mark as told maintaining temp at around 21 Deg celcius

I'm also not sure how great the plastic hydrometer is that comes with the kit.