Help using BeerSmith

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

jturman35

Supporting Member
HBT Supporter
Reaction score
Hey guys I’m somewhat new to brewing. I purchased BeerSmith a few months ago and have a few questions. I’m looking to brew this Old Highland Scotch Ale recipe the LHBS game me. I put the grain Bill in BS and was looking around. Seems like I recall reading somewhere that BS requires all the correct calculations and should only be used as a recipe book.

First thing that caught my eye was the beer color looked light for a Scotch Ale? BS shows 16.9 SRM.

Second the recipe I printed shows one pack of WLP028. Looking under the starter tab in BS it recommends 4pks?

IMG_1514167700.286631.jpg

IMG_0272.jpg

IMG_0273.jpg

Last edited:
Beersmith can be used for more than just a recipe book, but you do need to tweak the parameter to fit your system to get the most out of it.

I treat the color as a relative thing and not an absolute.

I do not use the beersmith yeast calculator, I use this yeast calculator.
http://www.brewunited.com/yeast_calculator.php

A vial or packet of yeast starts out at 100B cells but drops with time, look at the MFG date and enter that into calculator to get an estimate on how many cells you have. 3 or 4 vials of yeast does not seem too unrealistic for an average vial of semi fresh yeast. Best to do a starter to get a strong quick fermentation.

Seems like I recall reading somewhere that BS requires all the correct calculations and should only be used as a recipe book.

First thing that caught my eye was the beer color looked light for a Scotch Ale? BS shows 16.9 SRM.

Second the recipe I printed shows one pack of WLP028. Looking under the starter tab in BS it recommends 4pks?