Hello From Iowa

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

IowaHomeBrewer

Reaction score
Long time lurker here, just recently signed up. Thought I'd say hello and introduce myself.

I started brewing about 5 years ago with a neighbor. He bought the equipment and I would buy the ingredients.

Moved away and took a few years off, but my wife bought me one of the starter kits and I delved right back into it.

About 6 months later I started all grain brewing with 2 7 gallon coleman coolers and a 10 gallon kettle. These Iowa winters are cold, so about 2 months ago I started building my basement brewery and am going all electric.

After a lot of research, my mission was to cut down brew day time investment and simplify the process as much as possible while maintaining control over the ingredients.

I looked over the options, and for the money I felt like the High Gravity BIAB system was a pretty good way to go. I priced out purchasing components and building things myself, but it would not have saved me much money. I read a thread on here indicating they used cheap parts and was prone to failure alot, but those were all pretty dated. By the time I ordered mine they had already started making them with the temperature probe in the base of the kettle instead of where the wart was pumped back into the kettle.

So here is my set-up. All ready to stay nice and warm inside when the winter comes.

20150726_175025_zps75vphbwl.jpg

20150726_175003_zpsaiy7phzt.jpg

20150726_175012_zpszryugick.jpg