Has Anyone Welded Bayou Classic Kettles?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

cegan09

Supporting Member
HBT Supporter
Reaction score
I grabbed an 11 gallon Bayou Classic on sale this week and need to add a bunch of fittings to turn it into my new 1 Vessel eBIAB. I know these kettles are on the thinner side compared to higher end options. I'm curious if anyone has successfully welded on fittings to comment on the level of difficulty. I own a TIG, I'm decent with it, but i'm not a professional welder.

I bought my fittings from Brew Hardware, and I plan on installing all of them using his pull through flare method that gets used for soldering. I figure that dimple will add some strength around the fitting. I'll need to install two 1/2" NPT fittings, one 1/4" NPT, and two 1.5" TC fittings.

Hopefully someone has done this and can comment on how much fun i'm in for.

I just did something similar over the weekend. I've got a 6 gal bayou classic, fittings from BrewHardware, their pull through tool, silver solder, and flux. Made the hole, used the recommended hole bit and successfully added the tri clamp ferrule. Silver soldering was stupid easy, even using a small, hand held butane torch I was able to get a beautiful looking solder around it. Bobby recommends looping the solder around it a couple times and letting it heat up so it falls into place. Really happy with how it looks, leak tested successfully last night. My only regret is that I was nervous and did a handful of extra rotations after the pop, not the recommended one and I was unable to bring the ferrule end flush with the dimple. I can still add tri clamps easy but it doesn't look perfect. 10/10 would recommend. TIG welding might be a bit too much for the kettle though