grain brewing

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Hello all, I am new to home brewing. I made a few kit beers that came out relatively well. Now i would like to experiment with grains. Does anyone have any really good recipes for a grain ipa with IBU around 40 or so with ABV around 7% or 8% . Or english beers. Any help you guys give me is as always greatly appreciated . thx donny

Hello all, I am new to home brewing. I made a few kit beers that came out relatively well. Now i would like to experiment with grains. Does anyone have any really good recipes for a grain ipa with IBU around 40 or so with ABV around 7% or 8% . Or english beers. Any help you guys give me is as always greatly appreciated . thx donny
Have you visited the recipe thread? You’ll find what you’re looking for there.

Here’s a quick one I have that comes out good. Between WC and NE. Just a tasty ipa that Is juicy but with a touch of resin bitterness on the finish

13lbs 2 row
1 lb Cara pils
.5 lb biscuit malt
.5lb Cara Munich

Yeast: Us-05 ferment at 68

Mash 150 with 4.5 gallons of RO water
Sparge with 4.0 gallons at 168

Hops
Magnum 1 oz
Simcoe 4 oz
mosiac 3 oz

Hop schedule
1 oz magnum 60

1oz simcoe
1oz Mosiac both at F.O.

1 oz simcoe
1 oz Mosiac both whirlpool 160 for 30 mins

Dry hop 3 days before bottle
2 oz simcoe
1oz Mosiac

Batch prime with 3.5 ounces of corn sugar and let sit warm at 70 for 10-14 days and then drink

keep it simple, something like this (5 gal recipe):

11lbs 2-row
2lbs Munich Light
1lbs Carapils

1/2 oz Simcoe @ 60
1/2 oz Simcoe @ 15
1 oz Citra @ 5 (or at flameout)...bump this up if you want more aroma/citrus

Use US-05 or US-04