Good versus Bad Beer Ratio

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

What's your good to bad beer ratio?

• Total voters

SouthBounds

Reaction score
Hello Brewers! Do you always get it right?! Dump a few batches? Mend and fix?

Background - Of the last 4 brews I did 1 came out not to my liking. It just wasn't good. That would put me in the 75% good brew category. I haven't dumped it yet but it is a candidate.

So what's your brew success ratio?

I use Untappd, so I have data!
Since I started brewing, 57% of my beers/ciders/meads are 4 stars or higher. For comparison, 24% of my total is 4 stars or higher.

I experiment. I am not afraid of failure. That said, I always do certain recipes over and over also as I expect success. So. Yeah.

so far in my 2 years of brewing, I have not dumped anything. Some of my beers have been a so/so...and so far i do have a batch of cider that i am hoping that will turn for the better with age, it is my first batch that is from fresh juice and is not carbonated and a different yeast(3 batches all together from what i am gathering from my other posts, bad note taker on this).

With more i learn, and more I brew, I look back, and i probably would have dumped a batch or two. but then again, that is part of the learning process.

So the question comes to mind, is what do you consider a bad beer? is it a beer that has an infection, that got some oxidation due to transferring it? or a beer that...well does not turn out like you wanted it to, maybe because of lack of experience.

OP says there is 1 beer that is not to their liking. was it because it was a different style that you tried out? Was it a beer that you made once before that you liked, but the 2nd time around didn't come out right?