Glycol chiller/box ac unit

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Mallchamber

Reaction score
Anyone know if this is wired incorrectly?

Everything was working perfect until I set the unit down to low and the coil froze up. Ever since then the fan will kick on and the compressor just makes a humming noise and then stops, never fully turning on.

IMG_1524358107.132102.jpg
IMG_1524358129.939836.jpg

Your hot should be going to the hot input on the compressor which is usually right off the power input from a relay.

The neutral should be going to the capacitor. The capacitor is used to give a jump to the fans and compressor and get them going. Make sure it's connected right. Often the units have a circuit diagram. Have a look at it for help.

Google around as well, I'm no expert but have taken appart and rewired a few this week. Haha.

Anyone know if this is wired incorrectly?

Everything was working perfect until I set the unit down to low and the coil froze up. Ever since then the fan will kick on and the compressor just makes a humming noise and then stops, never fully turning on.