Getting rid of all the crud

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Vestario

Reaction score
Greetings everyone, I have been brewing for a couple of years. Started when the wife bought me a Brooklyn brew 1 gal kit and i decided that it was enough beer for one man. I have been making 5 gallon all grain batches now, and one thing i just can't seem to get right is getting all the(or as much as possible) grain bits from the mash tun into my kettle.

I have a 10 gallon cooler with a metal plate on the bottom that is supposed to stop the bigger pieces of the grain bed from moving on, however i still get lots of smaller particles in my kettle, so once i finish off the boil and chill it down, i need to use my siphon to try and get as little as possible the smaller parts of the grain that are left over.

I do a small amount of liquid first from the mash tun, and recirculate it back into the mash tun to settle the grain bed down, and then i do a slow drain from the mash tun into the kettle with a slow amount of water washing over the grain bed.

One thing i don't do is use a brew bag for the hops, and usually just pour them into the boil when the timing is required depending on the recipe i am doing.

I also use a Whrilfloc clarifying tab about ten minutes left in the boil.

I am also priming in bottles.

Is there anything else i can do that would help reduce the crud, as when i make a 5 gallon batch i usually only get about 30 500 ml bottles out of it. (last batch was 27) due to the amount of crud in the liquid that i really don't want in my fermentation bottle and bottles.

Thanks