For the Dads

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Beerisgud

Reaction score
I have a 10 month old and I haven’t brewed since she was 1 month. It’s been difficult to find the time. What are some great time saving tips for a new dad so I can have a bottle with my babe?

No worries brother. Yeah things get easier and time eventually becomes more available. I started this hobby when as I had my daughter as a way to distract myself from life (more then just being a first time dad) but I was a single father for many years and finding time to brew was scarce. As my daughter grew I found ways for her to help and enjoy the brewing time together. Even just having her hold a siphon hose made for a different bonding experience. Now she is 10 and I've been brewing for 10 years, she helped me weigh brewing salts and measure acid additions for my water for my last brewday. All that said, for now enjoy the time with the little one, maybe try to plan a play date or something where the little one goes off for a while and you can brew during that time.

I think you want to achieve two things. One is taking less time to brew--or at least less time while the kids are awake. The other is to make sure your brew day is as simple and stress free as possible so that you can give some attention to the family throughout the day.

A big help to me was brewing stupid early in the morning and doing everything i possibly could the night before to get ready. HLT full, grains & hops measured, everything in place, etc. It made the day shorter and smoother.

AIO systems like the Grainfather also help. You can set it to warm the water before you wake up. Once you mash in you can basically walk away for an hour and trust it to keep temp. Less stuff to clean up afterwards.