Problems with hop bitterness

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

akegs

Reaction score
Ok so I've been doing BIAB for about six months now an am having a pretty serious problem. My finished product has almost no hop bitterness. I am adding the right amount of hops, weighed out on a kitchen scale, at the right times, but have yet to produce any brews with any amount of Bitterness. Tepuble shoot me here, my last brew was an apa that should have clocked in at a hoppy 42 ibu based on beer smith. I tried it today and it's about as hoppy as an adjunct lager. I mean wtf? Also my hop aroma is there, but insanely fruity, like goddamn grapefruit nothing you've ever gotten from a commercial brew. What's going on?

Ok so I've been doing BIAB for about six months now an am having a pretty serious problem. My finished product has almost no hop bitterness. I am adding the right amount of hops, weighed out on a kitchen scale, at the right times, but have yet to produce any brews with any amount of Bitterness. Tepuble shoot me here, my last brew was an apa that should have clocked in at a hoppy 42 ibu based on beer smith. I tried it today and it's about as hoppy as an adjunct lager. I mean wtf? Also my hop aroma is there, but insanely fruity, like goddamn grapefruit nothing you've ever gotten from a commercial brew. What's going on?

What hops are you using and when? Tell us your hopping schedule.

Did you make sure to change all the settings in beer smith? Like the batch size, boil volume, equipment, mash, ect.

The type and quality of your hops is very important.

Also your tastes to the beer style may not mesh well.