Filtering

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

vicdry52

Reaction score
Hello all, I am very new to homebrewing. My son and I started this as a means of a shared hobby. We have brewed (and consumed) two batches thus far. Both have been kits though and we stuck right on the recipe. Our third is now two days into fermentation. We did use a pre-made recipe as a guide but we chose our own ingredients. My questions regard filtering out as much sediment as possible. We rough filtered as we transferred to the carboy and now there is already a thick layer on the bottom there. Not concerned at this point.
1. Will I damage the brew if I filter again on transfer to secondary fermentation?
2. Will I damage the brew if I filter again on transfer to the bottling bucket?
3. Will I damage the brew if I filter again on transfer to the bottles?
In case there is doubt, I don't like sediment in the beer. I will still drink it, mind you, I just prefer it to be clear.

Let it be!
Trub is normal in brewing and fermentation. It will all settle out on the bottom when the beer is done fermenting. You then rack/siphon the clear beer off the top into a bottling bucket or keg.

After fermentation has started, anything you do to strain/pour/filter your beer will result in (unwanted) air exposure and result in oxidation and possible infection. Either is bad for beer. Now right before or right after you pitch the yeast, aeration or oxygenation of the wort is beneficial to the yeast. Once you pitch yeast, wort technically becomes beer.

What kind of filtering did you do and what did you have in mind?