How Did Your first Brew Go?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Heavywalker

Reaction score
I thought this would be a good place to post some stories of your first brewing experience. There are countless questions on here, and people worrying, me included, about their first brew. All our beginning stories may help with easing the fear of a noob, and see that even the pros that frequent this site had issues when they first started.

So without further ado here is mine. (disclaimer I made a few kits before this but this is my first time with a boil and hop additions)

I made a 1.5L starter two days before brew day with 6 oz of DME brought to a boil for 10 minutes chilled and pitched yeast.

The night before I sanitized my clean carboy by dumping about half gallon of san star in it an capped it with a solid rubber bung, gave it a good shake and let it sit overnight. I also filled a bucket with sanstar and placed a stiring spoon, funnel, drilled stopper, 3 piece airlock, and a strainer put a lid on it and gave it a good shake and let that sit over night. I also picked up two bags of ice from the store the day before for the ice bath (should have got 2 more). I then went outside to set up my propane burner and tank and get everything ready, only thing was that I had not used the burner in years and the damn hose was clogged and would not work, being 30 minutes from the nearest store I had to move the operation inside (oh well nothing I can do now).