Fermentation Won’t Start

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

AMcBrews

Supporting Member
HBT Supporter
Reaction score
I’m stumped. I’m fairly new to all-grain, but I don’t see where I have gone wrong with this batch. Brew day went well, hit all my numbers, chilled my wort to about 70, and pitched two packs of S-04 (did not rehydrate). I put on my Brewjacket and I was holding the temp to 68. I have a Tilt in the wort, and after 4 days, I don’t have any activity. No krausen, no bubbles, no change in gravity.
I picked up two more packets of S-04 on Day 4, rehydrated per the instructions, and pitched the slurry.
Now I’m starting Day 2 after repitching, and I still don’t see any activity.
Is there something I could have done wrong during the brew? Low Ph? No fermentable sugars? My OG was spot on at 1.057, Mashed at 153, I did add Lactose toward the end of the boil, but that was already calculated into the recipe.
I have to toss a batch,

I’m stumped. I’m fairly new to all-grain, but I don’t see where I have gone wrong with this batch. Brew day went well, hit all my numbers, chilled my wort to about 70, and pitched two packs of S-04 (did not rehydrate). I put on my Brewjacket and I was holding the temp to 68. I have a Tilt in the wort, and after 4 days, I don’t have any activity. No krausen, no bubbles, no change in gravity.
I picked up two more packets of S-04 on Day 4, rehydrated per the instructions, and pitched the slurry.
Now I’m starting Day 2 after repitching, and I still don’t see any activity.
Is there something I could have done wrong during the brew? Low Ph? No fermentable sugars? My OG was spot on at 1.057, Mashed at 153, I did add Lactose toward the end of the boil, but that was already calculated into the recipe.
I have to toss a batch,