Fermentation Question

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Hi guys,

I am new to homebrewing. I've only brewed 3 extract batches so far: 2 3 gallon blondes and a 5 gallon porter. I've been learning so much from trial and error. I will likely be sticking to 3 gallon batches because they are much easier to bottle.

I have a question about fermentation for my porter. The first 3 days there was tons of activity- I learned I needed a blowoff valve because the airlock overflowed on Day 1. I used Mangrove Jack's M42 for the vanilla porter recipe. After the first 3 days there wasn't much activity. On Day 4, I put in the fresh vanilla and there was some CO2 Activity.

I will be going on vacation for a week and my porter will stay in fermentation for 2 and a half weeks or so. The recipe recommends two weeks in secondary fermentation. I only used a primary.

Is it okay to leave the porter in fermentation for an additional 3-5 days?

Thanks again!

I never even start my fg measurements before 14 days, on a porter or other heavier beer, I'll wait 3 weeks minimum.

yeast autolysis is something big brewers worry about because of the pressure in vats that have hundreds or thousands of gallons pressing on the cake, in homebrewing it is not a concern.

depending on the style, you can safely leave a beer in the primary for anywhere from 6 weeks to 3 months.

edit: the only issue here is that you added the vanilla already, next time calculate your vanilla or other "dryhop/spice" additions backward from when you bottle, not forward from when fermentation starts.

I will be going on vacation for a week and my porter will stay in fermentation for 2 and a half weeks or so. The recipe recommends two weeks in secondary fermentation. I only used a primary.