Help with HBT abbreviations!

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

twobears

Reaction score
I am a novice homebrewer and I find a lot of information on this forum helpful.....if I can understand it. These guys abbreviate alot. Most of the abbreviations used on this forum I've seen before or I can figure them out given their use in the sentence. Some of them on the otherhand I have no idea. We need a library of beer related terms and abbreviations so beginners reading along can undertand. Here are a few that I know:
DME, dry malt extract
LME, liquid malt extract
AG, all grain
IBU, international bittering unit
BK, brew kettle
MLT, mash tun (but I have no idea what the "L" is for)
HLT, hot liquor tank
HBS, homebrew supply
LHBS, local homebrew supply
HBT, Homebrew Talk
LP, liquified petroleum (propane)

I read one the other day that was about 8 letters long. I can't remember the letters and I have know idea what that person was trying to say. Not sure what BIAB is either. Any others that I've missed please fill me in. It makes my learning experience on HBT much more effective if I can fully understand what is being said.
Thanks.

We need a library of beer related terms and abbreviations so beginners reading along can undertand.

You mean like all these that we already have on here? Many which are stickied?????

this

And our glossary

And it broken down in terms of abbreviations

We even have a HBT dictionary...or commonly misspelled brew terms

So you want more things that people are going to ignore, or not look for and start threads about how we need them? ;)

Google is also a good source for infomation as well..Just add the word "beer" or "brewing" to whatever you're looking for and you'll find it...: