Feedback on my DIY Kettle plan

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

ThatITGuy

Reaction score
I'm relatively new to brewing, I've got a number of kit&kilo batches under my belt, looking to put together a kettle for an extract brew (or BIAB).

I plan to purchase a Turkey Fryer + Burner for about 100$ then modify the aluminum pot and add either stainless or brass ball valve. (SS weldless go for about 30$ online)
then also add a thermometer.

One thing I'm not sure about is a hop strainer, if it will be necessary, using mainly hop pellets. I may just use paint strainer bag instead, as I've heard they work well. Is the Bazooka worth the money?

Also, when transferring wort from kettle to FV, would siphoning at height (3ft) be enough oxygenation for the wort?

Feel free to chime in if I've overlooked any details, or if you have any suggestions on improvement.

Money is tight for me, so this will be pieced together as I can afford it.. also another reason why I'm not going the pre-built route. I can't justify speding 250$ when I can make the same thing for 50% less.

I got into homebrewing to SAVE money:rolleyes:.. HAHAHA

I used brass ball valves for a few years before stainless. I wouldn't go back as stainless has been easier to keep clean for some reason and I know what they're composed of all the way through. Hop strainers aren't necessary. Take a sanitized spoon and whirlpool the cooling wort manually and let settle for a hour or so. Syphon from the edge and you leave a lot behind. You're going to want to give the FV a good shake or pour vigorously (more chance of infection to the open air though) syphoning at that height.