Montrachet red star yeast with peach and blackberry wines?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Bnew17 said:
Will montrachet red star yeast work well with peach and blackberry wine?

It will work. I would rather see you go with Cote des Blancs for a more fruity profile.

I definitely want something that will give me a goodbstrong fruit profile. Does montrachet not give you that? Or is cote des blancs just give it more fruity profile ?

What about Lavlin 71b or 1122?

I only have montrachet on hand. Just didnt want to have to order just yeast if i didnt have to

I have a banana mead that just finished fermenting with it. It's my first time using 71b. The only warning I've read on it is that it doesn't like to be left of the lees for a long time.

It took my mead down from 1.108 to 0.994 in 4 months without leaving very much of the fusel hotness associated with mead. ~ 90% of the fermentation was done in the first 45 days. Right now, I'm just waiting to gather enough empties to bottle it.

I think you can use the Montrachet, as long as you are patient and willing to let it age. It's not a yeast for wine you want to drink young.

Frequently asked: What yeast do I use? Frequent answers state what yeast the poster uses, and not much more.
If you haven't read "The Compleat Meadmaker" by Ken Schramm, the following is an excerpt from his book.

Yeasts for Mead making (I believe this info will be applicable to more than just mead, so read on)

Assmanshausen (Wyeast 3277, Lallemand AMH, White Labs WLP749)
A German strain used for medium to full bodied red wines. Known for
enhancing the varietal character and spicy aromas of the grape. Alc to 15%.
temps 68-86 deg F (20-30 C)

Bourgovin (Lalvin RC212, White Labs WLP760)