Fermentation seems to have stopped

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

likafox

Reaction score
Hi everyone, beginner here. Forgive me if I do something dumb, haha. Just brewing up my first american amber ale (third beer overall). So... admittedly, I was a little drunk while I was brewing. :mug: I don't have the capacity for boiling 5 gallons so I add water at the end of the boil. I neglected to do that. I was at 4 gallons, which probably would have been fine. But I got antsy and boiled up a gallon the next day, cooled it to 70 degrees, and added it to my primary. I wanted to mix it up a bit anyway, since I didn't stir in the yeast. It was just pitched and sealed (Not sure if it really matters if you stir it or not anyway). It was bubbling away before I added the water, but now its come to a complete stop. I'm quite sure the water wasn't too hot/cold. I will probably wait a while and see what happens. It's been two days of no action.

Here's the recipe if it helps:

1/2# carapils
1/2# Victory
3/4# Caramel 80

A basic Amber LME... oops forgot to write it down

1 oz Northern Brewer dual purpose hops 60m
1 oz Kent golding aroma hops 10m

English Ale yeast (in a vial) (WLP002)

SG=1.043

As long as you didn't add the extra water at a hot temp then you shoulda been ok. For future brews, it's ok to top up your primary to bring it to volume and use cold water as it will help lower your final temperature to pitch your yeast. I've seen some people bring their volume up in secondary with water although I don't recommend it. I'm still fairly new at this myself. If you are using tap water, I recommend using bru vigor to help boost your yeast activity.