Beer and Cigars pairing

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

mitchmen

Reaction score
I am a big fan of beer and cigars but new to the home brew scene. I haven't found the right beer to make or drink with my cigars. What style/brand/recipe beer do you drink with cigars?

I'm no cigar expert but I do smoke them from time to time. I like them with darker beers like porters. I would think they would also go very well with something like wee heavy.

I have a Rochefort 10 in the fridge I am saving for a special occasion and a Final Absolution Clone in the secondary I'll try those for sure. I have a porter currently second on the que that I should brew early next month....any suggested recipes? I brew extracts currently.

Hoppy beers and cigars don't lend well to each other. Belgian/French ales, stouts, ESB's are my go to beers when smoking a cigar.

I think my top beer styles to pair with a cigar are an English Barleywine or an Imperial Stout...preferably barrel aged variations. To me, a cigar compliments the sweet bourbon/vanilla character of these styles very well.

sweet heavy beers are the best I have found. I haven't tried any barrel aged beers with a cigar but I would bet it would be good. I have found that the cigar just overpowers any lighter beers.

Definitely have to go with a darker beer IMHO. The Deception Cream Stout recipe in the stouts section of the forum is incredible with a good dark cigar. I personally love the CAO Brazilias.

hmmm im surprised no one has yet pointed out the fact, that cigars are much like beer in the sense they can have many many different flavours, and therefore different cigars would go with different beers, one cigar might be good with one stout, and another cigar good with a certain ale.