Tax Write Offs?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
While I agree with you, and would argue this all day long if the IRS said otherwise, there is precedent against the IRS agreeing with this position.

http://www.artlawreport.com/2012/11...eagle-work-goes-to-moma-tax-dispute-resolved/

That's a real dandy! At least they cut a deal with the IRS, an agreement, which sets the heirs free from any (tax) liability whatsoever, including possible criminal charges. Speaking of a classy barter there... I'm sure the attorneys weren't free.

So am I correct to understand there IS more value to the content of that keg than the sum of ingredients, although it's illegal to sell it?

Then how much would that be? 40 pints x $5-7 (average craft beer, pint price) = $200-280?

I am not a lawyer or CPA
If you donated to a Non profit beer that you made at your home, you should be able to write off the ingredients cost.

however, I cannot image that it's going to get you back so many dollars, or save you that many dollars on your taxes, why take the chance?

IslandLizard, $250 sounds like a reasonable number to me.

I'd probably consider fair market value at the going rate of retail beer. For example, if you donated a full keg, what is the typical fair market value of a keg of beer at your local distributor?

I'd base it on that. So if a keg is $200 at your local distributor, that is what I'd use. If you donated 144 bottles, I'd base it off FMV of what a mid grade beer would be (say $1.25 a bottle).

Unless the IRS thinks you are trying to cheat them, the most they'll do is disallow the deduction and you might owe interest on disallowed deduction if you are audited in future years.

That would of course stink, but there is probably a reasonable chance they might be fine with it.