Does this starter look OK?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

SMOKEU

Reaction score
This is my first time ever making a starter. I re-cultured yeast from Coopers bottles with 700mL water, 70G DME, then I stepped it up by double after 18 hours for a total of 1.5L or so. It has been sitting in the fridge for 12 hours when these pics were taken. I have not decanted off any of the "beer" off the top.

Yesterday when I put a lid on the bottle and shook it, there was so much foam coming out it was hard to open the lid without it gushing out so there was some activity happening there.

There just doesn't appear to be much yeast.

Attachments

• IMG_20200610_094554.jpg
    IMG_20200610_094554.jpg
    2.5 MB · Views: 40
  • IMG_20200610_094559.jpg
    IMG_20200610_094559.jpg
    2.6 MB · Views: 40
What you have described is normal. You may have to make several step up starters to get enough to brew with.

Some notes:

12 hours is not enough time for the yeast to fully settle out of a starter. The amount of time is going to depend on the yeast. It does go faster if you have it in the refrigerator.

Shaking a starter is going to have the results you described. There is a lot of CO2 in there. Some starters foam more than others.

Here is my process when culturing yeast from commercial bottles it's best to start with a weak starter. 25g of DME with 500ml of water. 24 hours after you see activity add 100g of DME with 1l of water. Let that ferment out completely. Chill till clear and then decant. Then start again with a full starter. This is going to depend on what you are brewing. I usually do about 2.5 liters so that I can save off some of the yeast for the next batch.