WLP400 Stuck Fermentation—More yeast? Bottle dregs?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

aceofnone

Reaction score
I'm fairly new to brewing—eight brews in. I have my first stuck fermentation (I think). I brewed a wheat beer extract kit three weeks ago, then pitched a one-liter starter of WLP400. OG 1.054; my first post-start-of-fermentation gravity reading was yesterday—SG was 1.020; I shook the carboy pretty well a few times (trying not to aerate); today's SG reading is the same. I've read WLP400 is a slow fermenter, but three weeks seems like a long time compared to my other brews.

First—If it is stuck—if it doesn't pick back up in the next day or two of shaking—should I pitch more WLP400, or maybe WLP410? Or another strain to finish it off? Any suggestions?

Second—If it would turn out well, I'd sour the beer. I've wanted to try brewing a sour anyway. What if I threw bottle dregs from a Jester King Bonnie the Rare (lacto soured Berliner weisse; unpasteurized and unfiltered) into the fermenter? Worth a try, or is that just a dumb idea?

Thanks in advance for helping a new guy.

its tough to say whether its really stuck or not. it could just be the '1.02 extract curse' that seems to rear its head fairly often. how does it taste? if it tastes wort-y still, adding more yeast could help, but you generally would want to add from an active starter. you could also try adding in a lil nutrient, sugar, and/or increase the temp to wake up the yeast

a sour wit would definitely work well if you want to go that route. you'll just need to wait a few months longer if you use those dregs (lacto will be slow post-ferment & your IBUs may inhibit as well). brett would work well too, but thats funky not sour.

DCP and Dan, thanks for the replies.