DIY Malt Crusher Build

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Coontail

Reaction score
Howdy!

So i'm brand new to home brewing and im still getting some of the necessary things to finally start fermenting. Tis' the season for ciders so i found the recipe to make some Graff. It requires the use of malts and i found out they have to be crushed! So here i am now making my very own cheap as possible crusher thing. I may have some questions along the way and any advice would be appreciated! :mug:

THE CRUSHER 3000: Thoughts so far

-Going for something small as the most i am brewing is 5 gallons of anything and i shouldn't have to crush more than 5 lbs of malts

-Going to turn some 1.5" aluminum stock for the rollers, will be knurled. Hopefully i don't underestimate the hardness of the malts but aluminum should be fine

-I have to figure out how to get the rollers to turn in sync

-Probably gonna go with a manual handle instead of electric as it'll be cheaper

-Hopper

A couple thoughts:

On my mill (and most of the homebrew-scale mills that I know of) only one of the rollers is powered. The non-powered roller spins in sync with the powered roller naturally as the grain gets caught by the powered roller.

It may not be that much more expensive to power the mill if you use a handheld power drill to power it. This is what I do, and it works quite well.

You may want to think of a way to adjust the spacing between the rollers.

I look forward to seeing what you come up with!

Thanks! i didnt know most weren't synced by gears, that sure makes things easier. I could make the handle so it's detachable in case the drill isn't usable at the time. ill find a way to incorporated the adjustable spacing