DIY Fast Ferment Conical Fermenter

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Brewmegoodbeer

Reaction score
Hello fellow home brewers,

I have recently been looking into the Fast Ferment Conical fermenter, and this thing is awesome! You are able to primary and secondary in the same vessel without moving the beer, and then you can siphon from the fermenter, nice, clear beer. The problem is, just the fermenter is 100 bucks, and then the stand is 50, and since I am a grad student with over 100,000 in loans, I ain't got money for that! I took an idea from another DIY conical fermenter on here: https://www.homebrewtalk.com/showthread.php?t=445207, where you take two food grade buckets, make a truncated cone out of one and weld the other bucket onto the cone, making a conical fermenter. I am also attaching cpvc piping to run down to a yeast trap just like the Fast Ferment Fermenter. I have attached pics of what I have done so far. I have yet to sand the bottom seal so don't judge my welding work or the uneven, unsanded cut on the cone ;). The bottom picture is the fermenter that i got my idea from, except I will have a yeast trap with a valve to separate it and dump it. I have about 38 dollars into this (6 for buckets and 32 for piping and fittings). My next steps are to do some sanding, attach the yeast trap, weld the bucket to the cone, and to make a stand. Stay tuned!

funnel ideal.jpg

bottom of funnel (not yet sanded).jpg

fast ferment.jpg

conical idea.jpg

Here is an update: I sanded down the bottom hole of the conical, I built the yeast trap, and I prepped the cone to be welded to the other bucket. I plan on naming this "Classy Ferment" since it has a classy mustache. lol Check out the pics.

sanded bottom of conical.jpg

yeast trap.jpg

welding prep.jpg