connection between efficiency and IBU

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Elysium

Reaction score
I am working on my second recipe and I am experimenting with different efficiency rates and the IBU keeps changing as I adjust it. (I am using brewtoad).

If efficiency is at 65%, the IBU is at 39 (that's what I am aiming for). If it is 75%, then it changes to 36. I am wondering if the 3 IBU will make a big difference in the bitterness and if there is a way to keep my IBU constant?

IIRC, hops utilization is dependent upon the gravity of the wort, which is dependent upon the efficiency

I believe we can only sense changes in IBU's over three, but I am no expert. Your IBU's are changing because your efficiency changes the amount of fermentable sugars in the wort. Higher efficiency means more sugars, more sugars means slightly stronger beer. A stronger beer (sometimes said to be more malty) needs more bitterness to combat or equalize the sweetness of the wort. This all plays with issomerization rates (along with time, temp, gravity, etc).

Ways to keep IBU's constant:

Keep track of the age of the hops, older hops are less bitter.

Pellet hops and leaf hops may have different issomerization rates, you may adjust accordingly.

Keep the boil rolling, and the same every time.

Dial in your process so you know what efficiency you can expect. This is huge for several reasons besides IBU's. Try looking at some of the posts and stickies on how to raise and maintain efficiency.

Edit: IMO a change of 3 IBU's will not be detected.

hops-graph.jpg

Dial in your process so you know what efficiency you can expect. This is huge for several reasons besides IBU's. Try looking at some of the posts and stickies on how to raise and maintain efficiency.