Money allocation question

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Bionik9

Reaction score
Hey guys. I'm new to the hobby here and am gradually acquiring equipment. As money becomes free to spend, I will need to decide which is most pressing. Here are my choices that I would like input on: Should I evolve past extract brewing (I have only two batches under my belt) and get equipment and education on all-grain (burner, mash run, etc), or should I do away with the headache of bottling and get the equipment for kegging? I already got a 14 cu.ft. freezer on the cheap that I one day hope to convert to a keezer. Thanks for the input guys!

I bought a good bit of my stuff off of craigslist too. I went all grain first and then start kegging. Kegging is definitely easier and quicker than bottling, but I still bottle a batch every now and then. The best thing about kegging is I find that I can get it carbed better and more consistent. To me thats a bigger selling point of kegging than the bottle cleaning. I bought a 20 lb co2 and a keg with 2 taps for my kegerator off of craigslist for $75.00. So, just keep your eyes open for deals and they will come.

I'd vote for the all-grain route.

You'll almost certainly want to go AG if you start kegging, but you can do the AG and bottle it to see if you want to take it to that level. There's no wrong answer.

I went the route of getting my all grain equipment first. Built some and bought some. Craigslist is a great resource.

I'd vote for the all-grain route.

You'll almost certainly want to go AG if you start kegging, but you can do the AG and bottle it to see if you want to take it to that level. There's no wrong answer.

This... for sure. Plus you can get started for a lot less $ and save a few bucks on each batch...