Dark Munich only beer

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
I’m experimenting with doing an all grain beer using only dark Munich malts water nugget hops and saflager w-34 does anyone have an idea of how many lbs of Munich to use to create an abv between 6-9%, I’m a beginner and beer recipe sites are super confusing.

I do a Doppelbock with 17# dark Munich and a pinch of caramunich II and carafa special II with 1/2 oz of magnum and it’s a hit. 5.5 gallon batch comes in at just over 9%

I had a thought last night. What would it take to use small whiskey oak barrels to carbonate ale in? Is it even possible? I’m not even sure it would hold the pressure of the carbonation process but if it did. That would be an excellent way to serve some craft beer to friends. Warm like in an eighteenth century pub with the oak flavors infusing from the barrel and if possible I could add addition flavors to the aging process. Let me know if I’m way out in left field on this one

When you say "Dark Munich", that can mean a lot of things - which are you talking about?
Munich II (8*L)?
Munich 10? Munich 20?

ALso, "between 6 and 9%" is a huge range of final result.
I would be wary of anything darker than Munich II (8L) as 100% of the grist, especially in a high gravity beer, lest you end up with a super heavy, cloyingly sweet mess. Dark Munich can leave a strong maltiness that can be perceived as sweet in high percentages.
By all means, give it a try, but be aware you are likely to end up with a beer you will perceive as heavy and sweet. But maybe that's what you want. I only offer this cautionary advice since you said you were a beginner.

But for the sake of follow-through, please post your final recipe and impressions of how the beer turns out.