Dank IPA recipe and schedule check

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Jel91

Reaction score
Hi, I'm working on a recipe for a dank piney IPA with some floral/fruity in the background, and I have come up with something like this. I've never used Chinook before, and I have only recently started playing around with my own recipes so I would appreciate any input about this recipe and hop schedule.

This is a recipe for 10 gallons

20 lbs 2 row
2 lbs oats
0.8 lb carapils
9 oz caramunich 2

1 oz Columbus @ 60
1.7 oz Simcoe @ 10
1 oz Chinook @ 10
0.7 oz Centennial @ 10
1.4 oz Centennial @ flameout
1.4 oz Simcoe @ flameout
1.7 oz Chinook @ flameout
1.7 oz Columbus @ flameout

dry hop for 5 days with 2 oz of each hop

I think this looks pretty good overall. You could consider shifting some more Columbus to flameout and more Simcoe to dry hop, that might help you get a nice dank base in the flavor with a bigger fresh pine/fruit aroma. I can't comment much on the Chinook as I'm personally not a fan.

I love the recipe and would commit 20 pounds of GP to it. It will be interesting to read if the Centennial makes an evident appearance in that recipe (I'm guessing that's where the OP perceives a potential floral contribution) given Simcoe/Chinook/Columbus are big bold hops when used for late additions. But even if it doesn't this should be a great beer for those who like to get punched in the mouth :D

Cheers!